Industrial Parks
Sea Port

Sea Port  
Sabah has eight main seaports which are accessible by international shipping. They are Kota Kinabalu, Sepangar Bay, Sandakan, Tawau, Lahad Datu, Kudat, Kunak and Labuan. The port of Labuan enjoys free port status. With the exception of Labuan, all the ports are under the jurisdiction and control of the Sabah Ports Authority.

The seven ports of Sabah (excluding Labuan which is now a Federal Territory) handled 16.59million tonnes of cargo in 1998, showing an decrease of 18.2% over that of 1997 with 19.61million tonnes. Sandakan Port handled the biggest tonnage (4.83 million tonnes), followed by Kota Kinabalu (3.32 million tonnes), Tawau (3.64 milliom tonnes), Sepangar Bay (2.47 million tonnes), Lahad Datu (2.06 million tonnes), Kudat (0.26 million tonnes) and Kunak (0.01 million tonnes).

The Sabah Ports Authority (SPA) was formed in 1968 under the Sabah Ports Authority Enactment 1967. This was amended in 1981 to authorised SPA to take over control of all ports within the state. The major ports are those of Kota Kinabalu, Sandakan, Tawau, and the Sapangar Bay Oil Terminal, while the minor ports are of Lahad Datu, Semporna, Kunak and Kudat. A new port just 5 KM from the Kota Kinabalu Industrial Park is due for completion in 2000.

The Port of Kota Kinabalu has twelve berths for vessels of up to 16,000 displacement tons. Six of the berths can handle vessels carrying containers. Straddle carriers and forklifts are used to move containers or general cargo.

Source: Ports of Malaysia, Gateway to the world Information Malaysia 1996

^ Top Of Page

As a statutory body, SPA has the following functions and responsibilities:
1. To provide and maintain adequate, efficient port services and facilities
2. To coordinate all activities within Sabah Ports
3. To promote the use and the improvement and development of the port
4. To execute such works may be necessary in respect of the SPA Enactment 1981.

Source: SPA: The Golden Gateway to Better Business Opportunities in Sabah (Pamphlet)

The Sabah Ports Authority
Sabah Port Authority, Kota Kinabalu.

In addition to managing the port services and facilities, the Sabah Ports Authority also handles wharf and storage facilities, stevedoring services, mechanised cargo handling for container goods and bulk liquid cargo and port security.

Source: SPA: The Golden Gateway to Better Business Opportunities in Sabah

^ Top Of Page


All port premises are restricted areas, and persons entering the port must have valid passes from the respective head of the port concerned.

A fee of RM5.00 is charged for annual port pass for individuals and RM2.00 for renewal. Vehicle passes carry a fee of RM10.00 per annum. Temporary passes are issued free of charge. The Marine Department provides pilotage. Fresh water is available from mains at the wharves.

1st Shift: 0730-1130 hours
2nd Shift: 1300-1700 hours
3rd Shift: 1800-2200 hours

The administration office will be closed on Sundays and public holidays.

Source: SPA: The Golden Gateway to Better Business Opportunities in Sabah

^ Top Of Page

All information are compiled by Jesselton Communications Sdn.Bhd. 2000.